Special Exhibition 14th October 2017 – 4th February 2018

An unknown world full of gods and daemons, in conjunction with secret rituals: even in Antiquity, the cults and burial practices of the Etruscans were regarded as unique. Right up to the modern day, the discoveries from etruscan shrines and graves fascinate both scientists and lay-people. The temporary exhibition leads the visitor on a journey to this multi-faceted world of the religion of the Etruscan civilisation and its visions of the afterlife.

High-calibre archaeological finds from northern and central Italy offer a fascinating insight into the Etruscan culture and the realm of the gods of ancient Italy. Religion and cult were an integral part of everyday life for the Etruscans. For them, almost every aspect of daily life was impregnated by a deeply religious meaning. For the Etruscans, the events of each day were an expression of divine will, which determined both this world and the next.

The Romans were particularly interested in the Etruscans’ knowledge of augury, and the rituals around death. With the help of such acts, the Etruscans believed they could interpret and influence the will of the gods. The rich collections of grave goods in Etruscan graves bear witness to the idea of a further existence after death. For this, the deceased was equipped with everything they would need. The objects on exhibition from graves and religious sites enable a vivid insight into the daily life of women, nobles and warriors in Etruscan society.



An exhibition by the Archaeological Museum, Frankfurt in co-operation with the Museo Archeologico Nazionale Florenz, the Museo Etrusco Guarnacci Volterra, the Soprintendenza Archeologia della Toscana, Contemporanea Progetti GmbH, Florenz and Expona GmbH, Bozen

     Sponsored by

CP        expona          

Dr Marschner Stifung

 

LOGO CGFrancoforteThe exhibition is under the auspices of Maurizio Canfora, Consul General of the Republic of Italy, Frankfurt am Main.

Sonderausstellung 14.10.2017 – 4.2.2018
Eine fremde Welt voller Götter und Dämonen, verbunden mit geheimnisvollen Ritualen: Die Kulte und Bestattungspraktiken der Etrusker galten bereits in der Antike als einzigartig. Bis heute faszinieren die Funde aus etruskischen Heiligtümern und Gräbern Wissenschaftler wie Laien. Die Sonderausstellung führt die Besucher in diese vielgestaltige Welt der Religion und Jenseitsvorstellungen der etruskischen Zivilisation.

Hochrangige archäologische Funde aus Nord- und Mittelitalien geben in der Ausstellung einen faszinierenden Einblick in die etruskische Kultur und die Götterwelt Altitaliens. Religion und Kult bildeten für die Etrusker feste Bestandteile des Alltags. Beinahe jeder Aspekt des täglichen Lebens war für sie von einem tiefen religiösen Sinn durchdrungen. Die Etrusker erlebten die Ereignisse jeden Tages als Ausdruck göttlichen Willens, der das Diesseits wie das Jenseits bestimmte.

Die Römer schätzten dabei besonders die Kenntnisse der Etrusker bei Weissagungs- und Totenritualen. Mit Hilfe solcher Handlungen glaubten die Etrusker, den Willen der Götter deuten und beeinflussen zu können. Die reichen Beigabenensembles etruskischer Gräber bezeugen die Vorstellung von einer Weiterexistenz nach dem Tod. Für diese stattete man den Verstorbenen mit allen notwendigen Dingen aus. Die ausgestellten Funde aus Gräbern und Heiligtümern gewähren einen lebendigen Einblick in das alltägliche Leben von Frauen, Adligen und Kriegern in der etruskischen Gesellschaft.



Eine Ausstellung des Archäologischen Museums Frankfurt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museo Archeologico Nazionale Florenz, dem Museo Etrusco Guarnacci Volterra, der Soprintendenza Archeologia della Toscana, Contemporanea Progetti GmbH, Florenz und Expona GmbH, Bozen

          Gefördert von
CP      expona       Dr Marschner Stifung

 

       
           

 

 

LOGO CGFrancoforte


Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Maurizio Canfora, Generalkonsul der Republik Italien, Frankfurt am Main.